Homemade Diaper Wipes: Year 2

As we closed out a year of Meghan using homemade diaper wipes, everything began to run low.  First she ran out of baby oil – the name brand kind with aloe.  I decided to try coconut oil and baby soap, instead of baby oil and baby soap.  I have read lots of good stuff about coconut oil, and we’ve used it topically on other family members with fine results.

I made her the usual batch of dry cotton wipes with water, baby soap and coconut oil and used those for a few weeks.  The coconut oil definitely increased her interest in eating the wipes, but unfortunately her bum did not agree with the coconut oil and she had a slight rash until the batch of wipes ran out.

DSCN1408 DSCN1413

I bought generic baby oil (no aloe) and also another year’s supply of dry wipes, and she is completely fine again.  I had debated buying regular wipes instead of making my own, but her skin is just so sensitive that it is worth the extra effort to do the homemade wipes.

So on to year 2 of pampered skin.  At least she isn’t eating the wipes anymore.  She’ll go for anything else though.DSCN1429 DSCN1430

About pokedpotato

Cheese lover.
This entry was posted in The Baby and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Homemade Diaper Wipes: Year 2

  1. Valerie says:

    I’m sensitive to coconut oil, too! Gave me a bit of a rash when I tried to use it as a moisturizer on my feet. 😛 I’m so glad you know how to help Meghan so she avoids discomfort in the diaper zone. It would be terrible to have to always use medicine to combat rash!

    • pokedpotato says:

      yes she immediately got a rash from it! But I know I’ve used it lightly on myself and Ben (3yo) with no side effects. yes I am so happy too about the homemade wipes helping her out =)

Leave a Reply

