Melted Crayon Easter Eggs

Today the kids were asking to do Easter crafts again, and I realized that we had completely overlooked the real egg department.  Usually I skip the dyeing of Easter eggs because of the associated stress of spilling the food coloring.  I don’t care if you’re using a whisk to hold the eggs or laying down an enormous absorbent towel.  Someone is going to spill an open container of colored vinegar water, and something that I own will be ruined.

This time, I boiled some eggs and then simply gave the eggs to them piping hot, with some crayons.

DSCN1452 DSCN1451 DSCN1450 DSCN1454

It was so easy!  I am always looking for easy setup and easy cleanup crafts, and this one fit the bill perfectly.  Ben put some scribbles on his and I added facial features, while Luke decorated his entire eggs’ surface.  Even Meghan got to participate…for about 5 seconds before she insisted on touching the hot egg.

DSCN1448 DSCN1449

She’s only 13 months.  Maybe tomorrow I’ll give her a cold boiled egg and a marker.

The melted crayon eggs turned out nicely.  They’re not gorgeous but the kids are proud of them and as it turns out, ugly eggs can be hidden and eaten just as readily as picture-perfect ones.

DSCN1456

About pokedpotato

Cheese lover.
This entry was posted in The kid, The kid v2 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Melted Crayon Easter Eggs

  1. Valerie says:

    Haha!! How cute are they?! I love the pic of her crying, but how sad that she was sad! 😉 P.S. I’m back to blogging… 🙂

    • pokedpotato says:

      Haha, I know, she is so funny but so sad at the same time! Zach told me I must be so mean. It was 2 seconds to snap the pic & then I picked her up =) And yay that is wonderful you are back to blogging! I have missed reading your thoughts!!

Leave a Reply

