When Things Go Wrong

Meghan is just over 3 months old.  She has doubled her birth weight and been interacting with people in the cutest ways.  She’s cooing and holding onto things, and she really gets pissed when you put her in a sleep sack because she knows that it’s nap time.  She’s been napping like crazy, and we are finally settling into a real routine.

This sweet baby naps. all. day. long.

This sweet baby naps. all. day. long.

Most days goes extremely well, and then there’s the flash point.

For example, the baby is sleeping and the boys are playing outside in the baby pool.  Everyone is content and happy.  I’m going in and out of the house, doing dishes and repeatedly checking on everyone.  Meghan starts to cry, so I tell the boys to come in early.  I get two fresh sets of clothes.  The baby is still crying.  I go back outside as quickly as possible.  As I’m toweling them off, I notice a tick on Luke.

Ack!  A tick.  Flash point.

The baby is still crying.  Maybe she’ll go back to sleep?  We have a tick situation.  Do I take it off inside or outside?  Do I need special tools?  The boys are wet and cold.  Do they need full body searches right now?  The baby is definitely pissed and still crying.  Not going back to sleep.  Luke is asking me incessant questions about ticks.  Ben is chilly and wants warm milk.

The whole day finally got to me and the tick just put me over the edge.

What do you do when things go wrong?

I like to fall back on my standby of prayer and pills.  A short silent prayer to help my heart and two Advil to work on my headache.  My mom gave me some great advice.  I asked her what to do when everything is going great, and then suddenly everything is not going great.  She said, “Don’t let it get the best of you.  Those are the times that you need to grow.”

I ended up removing the tick immediately, dressing them and at some point after the baby was soothed, I called the doctor.  It all turned out okay, but for a few minutes, everything was not fine.  All three kids needed me at the same time, and I just wanted to curl up into a ball and disappear.

It is not the ER trips that get to me, it’s the daily pound of crumbs I clean up.  Kind of like when I was working, it wasn’t the irate client yelling on the phone, but the coworker that constantly clipped their nails in the cube next to me.

When things go wrong, don’t let it get the best of you.  We’re doing a lot of “growing” over here.

About pokedpotato

Cheese lover.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When Things Go Wrong

  1. Valerie says:

    Oh! I hate ticks with a passion!! O_O
    You’re so right about growing. If everything were always peachy, we wouldn’t see how we need to change and grow. I do hope today isn’t one of those “growth” days for you, though. 😉

    • pokedpotato says:

      Thanks so much Valerie!! I absolutely hate ticks too. Yes, we grow so much when things are harder, it is just no fun sometimes. So far today has been a good one =)

Leave a Reply

