The Doctor is In

2014-04-30 133820In recent years, like most families with young kids, we have had a disproportionate amount of doctor visits.  Mostly sick and well visits to our pediatrician and my OB/GYN, but you can throw in things like urgent care, ER and overnight hospital trips as well.

Additionally, when I was pregnant, I required progesterone shots, given by my wonderful husband.  Once a week I would get jabbed in the butt cheek, and the boys would pull up chairs to excitedly watch.  As if getting a huge shot wasn’t stressful enough, like I want midget commentators analyzing the poke.

The upside to all this medical business is that the kids aren’t scared of doctors or hospitals one bit.  Ben even got a flu shot in his leg like it was no big deal.  Just a grimace.  Just like Mom.

Luke and Ben love to play doctor.

IMG_2671

Meghan getting her ears checked.  She’s not very thrilled about it.

Usually, they make the patient (generally, that’s me) start out in the waiting room.  After a few minutes, the patient is allowed to move to the actual room where work is done on them.  Then, there’s the X-ray room and the bloodwork room.  Finally, the patient is told to check out in yet another room and must provide a credit card to pay for services.

I don’t like playing this game because I have to move around to a lot of different rooms.

Lately, however, they have been doing surgeries, straight up.  No waiting room.  I got a C-section the other day.  It was wonderful.  I laid there, resting for 10 minutes, while they performed the operation.  I gave birth to twins.  One stuffed bear and one Tigger.

It was the funniest thing ever.  I told Zach about it that night.  He cut me off dismissively, “Oh yeah, I got a C-section too.  Except, I was a cow when they were performing the C-section on me.”

“A cow?” I spluttered.

He nodded seriously.  “Yes.  I was a cow.  And then I was a pig and they cut the bacon out of my back.”

I got to be a sheep the next day.  If you’re looking for surgery and are willing to be a farm animal at the same time, come on over.

The doctor is in.

About pokedpotato

Cheese lover.
This entry was posted in The kid, The kid v2 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

