Here Goes Nothing

Three weeks ago, Ben insisted that he was ready for potty training.  I cringed inwardly.  I really hate potty training and I didn’t think he was ready.  Furthermore, we had two road trips coming up, totaling almost two weeks of being away.  There was no way I was going to train him at someone else’s house.  I held off, and in true Ben-form, he started stubbornly training himself.

IMG_9092

“Pee in potty.  Wear Pooh undies.”

He was pretty insistent that he have Pooh training pants.  After multiple references to Pooh on his underwear, Zach told me I’d better buy him some.  I still didn’t want to train him, but agreed that we needed something Pooh-ish available to cover his bum.

I bought some Pooh decals to iron onto our training underwear.  He was ecstatic.  “Make now.  Pooh undies.”  I promised I would make them before we started potty training.

He went from being completely clueless on bodily functions, to fully capable of peeing and occasionally pooping in the potty whenever he wanted.  Pretty good for a freshly minted 2-year-old.  I still kept him in diapers, and we went on our road trips.  I brought the potty, and he used it frequently.

Yesterday, we returned from our second road trip.  It was like a doomsday clock went off in my mind.  He was still showing a strong interest in being trained, and I didn’t have any good reasons to hold it off any longer.  I reluctantly made him his promised Pooh underwear, putting the decal on the back.

IMG_1284

When he woke up from his nap today, I gave them to him.  Completely thrilled, he beamed as I told him that we would start real potty training tomorrow.

IMG_1286

Zach was enthusiastic as well.  “Ben!  It’s Pooh!  It’s Tigger!  It’s Piglet!!!!  Arrrgh, Mom should’ve bought you an Eeyore!”

“The Eeyore decal was too big,” I interjected.

Zach went on, a twinkle in his eyes.  “Then you could’ve had an ass on your ass!”

Ben grinned.  I couldn’t help it.  I laughed.

Eeyore on his bum or not, we’re starting tomorrow.  Here goes nothing.

About pokedpotato

Cheese lover.
This entry was posted in The kid v2 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Here Goes Nothing

  1. Valerie says:

    He is so adorable!! I love that he wants to potty train – that’s incredible. Samuel likes talking about the potty (and he likes to use ours as a step stool) but I don’t think he’s anywhere near ready to p/t so I’m not sayin’ a word. 😉 Good luck tomorrow! And the undies turned out cute.

    • pokedpotato says:

      That is awesome about Samuel!! I love the idea of letting the little ones bring up potty training themselves, too. That is what I did with Luke & it worked pretty well. I just wasn’t expecting Ben to bring it up all of a sudden, goodness. Thanks for the good luck wishes =) We’ll see how it goes…yes, thank you, at least he has cute undies =) Haha!! Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

