I Wish I Was a Teenager

Our oldest son, Luke, just turned 4 years old.  He was incredibly proud of graduating from the 3’s, and continues to remind us that he is the BIG 4.  There have been lots of changes, some instant and others gradual.

He has started shaving, thanks to a wonderful uncle who got him his own shaving kit.  (Ben’s started shaving too).  They mostly shave whatever parts of their bodies that they can lather up with shaving cream.  The belly is a popular area.

Legos are the new obsession.  This was a huge shock for me.  He has been talking about a specific Lego set that he has wanted for months, but I was doubtful on his ability to put it together.  He just figured out how to build structural Duplo creations (as in, sturdy walls instead of multiple towers that fall over when you cough), so it wasn’t a stretch to think that Legos would be difficult.

Wow.  Give that boy a set of instructions with a patient, translating adult, and he can assemble Legos for hours.

IMG_1034 IMG_1040 IMG_1041

Superheros are also a bit of an obsession around here.  I completely attribute this to peer pressure.  It’s cute.  He has a bunch of friends that love Spiderman, but I don’t think any of them have even watched a single show about Spidey.

IMG_1066

Hulk hands. Good idea?

Or bad idea?

Or bad idea?

We’ve started playing a lot of soccer, and just bought him a real bike.

He has turned into a “big boy”, but with it has come the self-realization that he is still small potatoes.  Yesterday, we were at a friend’s graduation party for his son.  Lots of 18-year-old kids having fun.  Luke came up to me at one point, sighed, and plopped his head on my lap.

“Mom, I wish I was a teenager.”

Almost there, buddy.  Almost there.

About pokedpotato

Cheese lover.
This entry was posted in The kid and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I Wish I Was a Teenager

  1. Valerie says:

    Aww, what a cutie! Aren’t these boys amazing with the Legos?! My son, Joshua (9) started young too.
    Haha, almost a teenager. Glad it doesn’t happen THAT fast! 😉

    • pokedpotato says:

      Oh man!! Even 9 years old sounds so grown up! That is awesome your son is into Legos too. Makes me sad to think of my kids growing up. Yes, I am glad it doesn’t happen that fast either =) Thanks for reading!!

      • Valerie says:

        Oh, I know! It’s funny to have a 13 year old and 9 year old and think of them as being just the right age (not old, not young) and then there’s our little bitty 23 month old! When our oldest was that young, I thought she was getting so big! lol Perspective. 😉

      • pokedpotato says:

        Awww. What a great spread. I remember being 13 and having a 1 yr old sister! That is so nice for your youngest to have sibling helpers!! And I bet they are real help at that age 🙂

      • Valerie says:

        They are SUCH a big help! And because we homeschool, they are with us most of the time. 🙂 I can take a shower with no toddler issues! 😉

  2. alltheseblessedthings says:

    Sweetest boys!

Leave a Reply

