The Perils of Young Gardeners

With the deck freshly painted, all the planters were relocated from the driveway to their normal location along the deck rails.

IMG_0580They really perk up the deck and hopefully will not suffer as much abuse from the little critters down below.  My smallest critter bounced a soccer ball on a row of green bean plants.  Two green bean plants suffered.  My oldest critter’s friend uprooted a pumpkin plant, and proclaimed, “Look!  A plant!”

We patted it back into the soil, and amazingly it came back to life.  Then, two days later, Ben uprooted the same one again (what are the chances), and this time it was a goner.

With the veggies not directly on the playing field, I am hoping that they can thrive, despite the relentless care of two eager children, ages 3 and 1.

One jar of carrots is growing quite stoutly.  The other jar (I’ll let you guess which one) was repeated over-watered.  Carrot survival chances are slim.

Image06252013171035

We also have a row of carrots in another planter that are ready to be thinned, but Luke flips out whenever I mention pulling some of his precious carrot tops.  I predict that our carrot crop this year will turn out just like last year’s: stubby and lacking sweetness.

Speaking of being ready to be thinned, I’ve managed to discretely remove a few pumpkin plants.  I assume that a single pumpkin plant should be in a planter twice the size of this one, but the best I can whittle the number down to is three.

IMG_0577

Luke went bananas when he saw me pluck the unlucky loser.  “Mom!  Don’t you know, you need pumpkin plants to grow pumpkins!  You cannot pull the pumpkin plants if you want pumpkins!”

I explained to him about the roots needing room to stretch their toes and pulling one plant made more room for the other plants.  He wasn’t buying it.  Pumpkin plants are necessary to grow pumpkins, was his mantra.

Our lettuce is looking perky, ruffled purple and getting a bit crowded.  Hopefully we can snip some this weekend.  I don’t believe any of my cilantro came up, which is really, really sad.  All the other herbs are doing okay.

Overall, I have high hopes for our tiny deck garden.  The deck tends to get watered more than the actual plants.  When the boys do decide to water a planter, the soil really gets a deluge.

Image06252013171236

The poor plants probably don’t know what to think.  Despite the perils of being in the unskilled hands of young gardeners, they are hopefully happy in the sunshine and enjoying the weather.  I know my gardeners are.

About pokedpotato

Cheese lover.
This entry was posted in The kid, The kid v2 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Perils of Young Gardeners

  1. toddlerdiary says:

    Claire’s mommy here, taking over her blog for a minute: I love getting kids involved with growing plants. Give them an appreciation for nature and gets them excited about eating good-for-you stuff! Did you know fruits/veggies only retain about 40% of their nutrients five days after getting picked?! Imagine what percentage is left when you get them from the grocery store.

    • pokedpotato says:

      Ugh, yes, it is so sad when you buy from a huge grocery store, you don’t know how long ago the stuff was picked & you can only hope for freshness. I love buying local and I should really strive to buy all my fruits & veggies locally. Yes, the little ones love growing!! It is so fun to teach them about outdoor things!! Love that you are doing the same with Claire!!

Leave a Reply

