It All Depends On How You Look At It

Busily browning a pork tenderloin at the stove, the gentle shaking sound caused me to turn my head and perform a visual investigation.

No caption required.

I inhaled sharply, “Oh no.  Oh no.  Oh, Ben.”

Shake.  Shake.  Shake.  Ben didn’t even look at me.  He was completely engrossed with the wonderful, fine dust, erupting from the container.

“Oh, Ben.  Not good.”  I shut the heat off the stove, turning my attention from the dead pig to the lively boy.

He expertly moved the little plastic top with his chubby finger.  Open.  Close.  Open.  He gave it a few more good shakes.

He smelled lovely.  Nutmeg.

I took the greatly emptied spice container, dust-busted him up as best I could, stripped the man down, and procured fresh clothes.  I shooed him off to play somewhere else, and went back to fixing dinner.

Opening a bottle of red wine, I set the nutmeg back on the low shelf and reflected.  It was honestly my fault.  I had forgotten that he knew how to operate those spice containers, and had handed him one to play with.  I took a swig, straight from the bottle.

At least it wasn’t the chili powder, I thought, as I corked the wine and chuckled to myself.  What a funny kid.

About pokedpotato

Cheese lover.
This entry was posted in The kid v2 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It All Depends On How You Look At It

  1. Susan sigmon says:

    Awwwww. A girl after my own heart……”took a swig right from the bottle” is such a delightful vision. A girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do.

  2. Megan says:

    HAHAHAHAHA!! I love it! Liv DID get into the chilli powder one day! I was very thankful that she loves Mexican food and handled it like a champ! 🙂 Miss you sweetheart!!

Leave a Reply

