The Boys Catch the Gardening Bug

Last week, the deck garden met its demise.  The late frost in May kept some of the garden from reaching its full potential, but overall it was a huge success.  The boys have put in lots of requests for new veggies next year.

Luke adored making pesto.  I tried to accomplish too much at the same time, and burnt the pine nuts.  Typical.  It still tasted pretty good.

Pulling leaves off the stem

I did not like the carrots we grew.  When we planted the tiny carrot seed specks, Luke tossed them around liberally.  When they started growing, I did not thin them out.  As a result, they were squished and short.

What to do with all those stunted carrots?

Luke loved the carrots and ate them at almost every meal all summer long.  At the final harvest, he requested carrot soup.  I complied, but to be honest, it didn’t look very yummy.  He also had me throw in other random produce that we gathered.  I ordered a pizza as well.  He ate the soup.  I ate the pizza.

Oh Mommy. This carrot soup is good.

The tomatoes were amazing, as always.  We ate them in wedges, with salt and vinegar.  I never really was able to enjoy any cherry tomatoes, because Luke would pluck and eat them himself, as soon as they were remotely ripe.  Incredibly tasty.

Luke and I are done gardening for the year.  Ben, however, is just getting started.

The green cherry tomatoes really get him excited.

I am looking forward to next year, when I will have not one, but two sets of helping hands.

About pokedpotato

Cheese lover.
This entry was posted in The kid, The kid v2 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Boys Catch the Gardening Bug

  1. alltheseblessedthings says:

    Amazing! Those boys are just wonderful. We have gotten our bed cleaned up and added a second with blueberry bushes. Daniel and our neighbor planted a few cold-weather things that I’m hoping to grow. My kids are very excited about the gardening, too!

    • pokedpotato says:

      OOo how fun!! I would love to do blueberry bushes but I am worried the animals will get to them. Will you net the bush when it starts to have blueberries? What cold-weather things did you plant?

  2. Lea says:

    Have you ever tried curried carrot soup? Requires an immersion blender but is likely more appetizing than Luke’s version. 🙂

    • pokedpotato says:

      I have not! I would’ve been happy to make a true carrot soup, but all I had was about 1 cup of very tiny carrots. I didn’t want to add/puree in any more carrots, in order to maintain the visual integrity of his little nasty ones, for Luke’s sake. I will have to look up curried carrot soup. Sounds yummy and I don’t have a good carrot soup recipe.

Leave a Reply

