How Does Your Garden Grow

Much to Luke’s delight, we’ve started harvesting some munchies from our garden.  He’s already been noshing on chives, dill weed, and any other miscellaneous veggie he can snag with his grubby little hands.

First order of business:  snipping a few green peppers that were weighing the pepper plant down.

Green pepper plant, minus 2 green peppers.

The green peppers – which got daily rubs from Luke as he entreated them to grow nice and big – were adorable, and got a few kisses before being chomped.

Because even vegetables need a kiss sometimes.

Next, we moved on to the carrots.  Luke loves carrots.  I bribe him with carrots so that he finishes things like pizza and chicken nuggets.  This seems somewhat backwards to me.

Washed carrot.

The carrots lived up to expectation.  I am sure they will continue to be a big hit as they grow bigger.  There is some sort of earthy joy in pulling a leafy top from the dirt, and discovering a perfectly ugly orange carrot beneath.

He’s a bunny in disguise.

Finally, the cabbages were overshadowing the lettuce, so we removed two heads in the hope that some of the bullied lettuce would be able to spread its leafy arms a bit.

Our tiny lettuce row

I wasn’t quite sure what to do with the cabbage – I’ve never bought a cabbage from the grocery store.  Actually, the cabbage in our garden was a complete mistake.  I thought I had bought broccoli (according to the little liar of a stick in the dirt), and then when I brought it home, I realized that it was in fact, cabbage.

I decided to make cole slaw.  I kind of followed this recipe, which means I looked at the recipe, and then made up my own.

I whisked together (approximately):  2 tsp lemon juice, 1 TBSP red wine vinegar, 1 TBSP white sugar, and 1/4 cup buttermilk ranch dressing.

I added 2 cups chopped cabbage and 1 (regular sized) shredded carrot.  No onion.

I then added salt and pepper to taste; chilled for a few hours and tossed before serving.

(This was enough to serve 2 adults and 1 pint-sized kid).

Experimental cole slaw

It turned out really well.  Luke, who had just decided he did not like cole slaw the last time he tried it, claimed that this was quite good.

Every turkey burger needs a few colorful sides: fresh cole slaw and a few green pepper strips from the garden, and sweet potato fries.

I can’t say that the garden is growing wonderfully; the May frost seems to have affected my tomatoes, cucumbers and green beans the worst.  Some of my herbs are doing fantastic, and others have a constant droopy, stunted depression hanging over them.

However, a sad, little deck garden is still a garden, even if our max green bean yield is probably going to be less than 20, so we are enjoying every bite.

About pokedpotato

Cheese lover.
This entry was posted in The kid and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How Does Your Garden Grow

  1. Little Sis says:

    LOL. I think we went to the same cooking school. “Follow the recipe” means read it and then decide what YOU want to do. So interesting to see how our little ones respond to garden grown food – although I don’t think mine have straight up kissed the produce like your little man, I think my son WOULD kiss the raspberry canes if they didn’t have prickers. 🙂

    • pokedpotato says:

      Ha! Yes, I am really bad about the recipe thing too. I read a bunch of similar recipes, look at reviews and think about how I want it to taste and then sort of wing it. It usually turns out pretty well but then I never have anything written down to refer back too. Lol, that is cute about your son. I had no idea mine would get so obsessed with the green peppers. Every day! He would rub it and say “Mom, look how big it is getting!” So fun and so worth it! 🙂 thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

