Christmas Takeaways: Christmas Eve Service

A gross spiritual misconception on Luke’s part was revealed at our Christmas Eve service, during the candle lighting portion.  As usual, the pastor started out with one huge candle, lighting everyone else’s candle from that single flame.  Luke immediately was on high alert.  He turned to me and said, “Mom!  Jesus-man has candle!  Jesus-man has light!”

I stifled a laugh.  “No, Luke.  That’s the pastor.  That’s not Jesus.”

I should’ve known this was coming.  He asked me today if Pooh could go to church to see Jesus.

Zach leaned over to Luke and whispered, “Luke, that’s not Jesus.  Jesus has a beard.”

My eyes bugged out at Zach.  I choked back a giggle, and glared at him instead.

Zach gave me his “I’m innocent” look.  “What?  It’s true.”

I ignored him.  “Luke, Jesus is in heaven.”

Luke craned his neck forward and excitedly whispered, “Der Jesus!  Dat man has beard!”

I mentally thanked Zach for adding yet another layer of confusion to Luke’s understanding of all things important.

About pokedpotato

Cheese lover.
This entry was posted in The husband, The kid and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christmas Takeaways: Christmas Eve Service

  1. Josh says:

    I have nothing constructive to say other than this story made me happy.

Leave a Reply

