Our New Diaper Bag

 I have been looking for a new diaper bag for some time.  With a second kid on the way, I wanted something bigger.  I had scoped out the one I wanted – a girl at church was using a nice Coach diaper bag for her twins.  I even had a coupon.

However, the frugal side of me reluctantly decided to keep cramming everything into our current bag.  I let my coupon expire and sadly threw it away.

Two weeks ago, when we were on vacation, the ridiculous heat caused the zipper tag on our diaper bag to literally melt and fall off.  There was no way to fix it, so it doesn’t close very well.

This diaper bag is no longer servicable.

This weekend, I was at an outlet mall in Michigan with a girlfriend.  At the end of our shopping excursion, I made a beeline for the Coach store.  They had some newer diaper bags which I had not previously seen.  Additionally, they were not only on clearance, but also 50% off plus another 30% off that price.

I bought one.  How could I not?

Extremely roomy and servicable.

When I got home, I proudly showed Zach the new diaper bag.

He eyed it suspiciously.  “Are you going to take everything out of it every time you use it?”

I stared at him blankly, “What?”

“Or am I going to have to carry around a Coach purse.”

I looked at him.  “It’s not a purse.  It’s a diaper bag.”

He looked at me.  “It’s a purse.”

“The old diaper bag is busted.”

“It’s a Coach purse.”

“The zipper doesn’t work.”  I paused, slightly crestfallen.  “I’m sorry.  I didn’t think about you.”

“Obviously not.”

Zach does use the diaper bag all the time.

I started rooting around the new diaper bag.  “What if I put on the long canvas strap?  See.  Now you can sling it over your shoulder like a messenger bag.”

“It’s still a Coach purse.”

I felt really bad.  “I’m sorry.  I’ll transfer stuff.  You can use the old bag.  But the zipper doesn’t work.”

“It’s fine, it’s fine.  I’ll use the new purse.”

“Diaper bag.”

The next day, we went out with Luke.  I tranferred everything from the old bag to the new one.  I carried it.  I was happy.

At some point, Zach slung it over his shoulder.

It looked like a purse.

I didn’t say anything.

About pokedpotato

Cheese lover.
This entry was posted in The husband and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Our New Diaper Bag

  1. Katie says:

    Yep, it does. 🙂 I think Josh would stick diapers in his pockets before carrying that. Nice for you to use though!! 🙂

    • pokedpotato says:

      I felt so bad!!! I didn’t even think of Zach when I bought it, and when we bought the first one, I now remember that I let him pick it out because he was the main caregiver for Luke’s first 8 mo of life. But I do get a big smile on my face every time I see it. Poor Zach.

  2. Angel says:

    Bahahahha! I loved this. It was totally a conversation that Owen and I could have. Except, he wouldn’t use it. I’d see him stuffing diapers in his pockets and rash cream in his wallet. Oh, poor Zach. 🙂

    p.s. LOVE the new bag though- especially on clearance!

  3. z'sdad says:

    “There was no way to fix it ” You have got to be kidding me……… Two smart engineers and you can’t fix a simple diaper bag zipper?????????? I’m thinking it’s just another thing you learned at “Wife School”. Maybe you could but some Harley Davidson sickers on it.

  4. Megan says:

    I just now read this and am cracking up. I can picture Z carrying around a coach purse. That is awesome.

Leave a Reply

