Happy “M” Day

Mother’s Day exasperates me.  It is such a silly holiday but I don’t want to piss off all the moms – especially those related to me in some way – by not recognizing that day.  In all honesty, it just seems like one more reason to buy Hallmark stock.

I’m absolutely appreciative of all the moms out there.  I love them for what they do, without recognition or reward almost all of the time.  I think instead of a pretty card, they should all get a nice day off (at least, that’s what I want).  As that doesn’t really happen, a card seems kind of lame to me.

I’ve been a mom for 2 Mother’s Days now.  While it gives me warm fuzzies to be a mom, I still don’t really care about the particular day.  This year, I asked Zach if he wanted to do anything for Mother’s Day.  He paused for a moment, and then replied, “No.”

Later, he asked me if I wanted to do anything for Mother’s Day.  That was nice of him.  I couldn’t really come up with anything, aside from going out to dinner, which we would probably do anyways.

At any rate, I sent out a few cards, which will definitely arrive late.  I apologize to the recipients.  I really did try to get them out on time.  I blame it on Luke’s naps.  Every time I am putting him down, the darn mailman drives by.

Last year, I got my Mother’s Day card one week late (it was started on the afternoon of Mother’s Day by Zach and Luke), which read, “Happy M Day” in crayon.  At least they won’t be that late.

So Happy early “M” Day to all the moms out there.

About pokedpotato

Cheese lover.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy “M” Day

  1. Happy Mother’s Day, Rebecca. I hope you get a little time to relax and reflect. And I hope you get a little acknowledgement of what a great mother you are!

    • pokedpotato says:

      Ha! Thanks Kevin!! I hope I get some relaxing time too; I think my extra 20 minutes in bed this morning (this is a HUGE deal) counted as my relaxing time for the year. I do get lots of little hugs which go a long way =)

Leave a Reply

