Paying the Sitter

Zach and I are huge credit card people.  We have 2 cards with which we charge everything possible, pay off the monthly balance, and get yearly cash back.  It is a good system that works for us. 

Luke is learning this system too.  I don’t think he has ever seen a dollar bill.  When we stand in the checkout line, he says, “Pay?  Swipe?” as he mimics a card being zipped through a reader.

Recently, we had a string of babysitters.  I called my husband at work to inform him that all I had at home was a benjamin, and needed some small change to pay the sitter.  He said it was no big deal; he would pull money out of the ATM at work.  I was satisfied.

He called me about half an hour later.  “Hey.  I can’t get any cash out.  My ATM card has expired.”

I groaned.  This was bad news.  “When was the last time you used it?  Really?  Let me check mine.”

I rifled through my purse, pulled out my wallet and glared at my ATM card.  “Shit.  Mine expired 2 years ago.”

We both laughed stupidly.  Who carries around 2-year expired ATM cards?  I shook my head.  “Just forget about it.  We’ll figure it out later.  Come on home.”

I managed to scrounge up some small bills to pay the sitters.

Everything worked out.

We are still carrying around ridiculously expired ATM cards.

About pokedpotato

Cheese lover.
This entry was posted in The husband and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

