Keeping a Secret: Discovery

News:  I’m pregnant.  Baby #2. 

Caveat:  My husband has specifically requested that he not be informed. 

How, you may ask, does something like this go down?

Let me tell you a little bit about my husband.  Like most people, Zach likes being happy.  Newborn babies do not make him happy.  It’s not that he doesn’t want more kids.  He’s even suggested names for the second one to me.  He just doesn’t like the beginning.  I totally admit, the first few months are rough.  Thankfully, I don’t remember half of it.  He does. 

The calm before the storm.

I do remember one evening, when Luke was a few weeks old.  We had just put Luke down for the first portion of his nighttime sleep.  Bleary-eyed, we converged in our little apartment kitchen.  Unshaven and slovenly, Zach looked at me and said, “I tell you what.” 

He paused for effect.  “This is soooooo not worth it.” 

I giggled and half-heartedly protested. 

At some point, we regained our sleep, and therefore our sanity, and life resumed. 

We’ve talked about having a second kid.  Every time it comes up, he emphatically states that he does not want to know that I’m pregnant.  He just wants to be happy.  He absolutely loves Luke, but whenever he looks at baby pictures, he comments on how happy he is that the stinker has grown up.  I guess those first few months really made an impression.

So, as long as I can keep this pregnancy a secret from him, he is happier for one more day. 

I’ve asked him about this many times.  He says, “Just let me be happy.”

There you go.  That’s how things go down at our house.  Everything is going well…I’m happy because I’m pregnant. 

He’s happy because he doesn’t know I’m pregnant.

Click for Part 2.

About pokedpotato

Cheese lover.
This entry was posted in The husband, The kid v2 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Keeping a Secret: Discovery

  1. alltheseblessedthings says:

    WOOHOO! Congratulations! I won’t tell…. 😉

  2. I have often told people that I enjoy my kids more every day. The bigger they grow, the more they mature, the happier I am. I did not enjoy the infant stage nearly as much as the toddler, nor the toddler stage nearly as much as the young child, nor the young child stage nearly as much as the elementary student, and so on. In some weird, twisted way, I’m sort of looking forward to them being teenagers. But don’t tell anyone.

    • pokedpotato says:

      Zach is definitely looking forward to Luke getting older. That is awesome to be able to say you are looking forward to your kids as teenagers!! Sign of good parents=)

  3. Pingback: Keeping a Secret: Revealing | Settling In

  4. Pingback: Keeping a Secret: Sharing | Settling In

Leave a Reply

