A Shot of Vinegar

When I worked at Boeing, it was always long hours in the lab, and then a long commute home.  I would be utterly bedraggled by the time I made it back home.  One of my wonderful co-workers mentioned that when she was exhausted after work, she would have a shot of vinegar.  It would totally perk her up. 

It was exactly what I needed.  It sounded kind of gross, but the next day when I got home, I got out a large spoon and filled it to the brim with white vinegar.  Zach the Bystander watched silently.  I tipped it into my mouth, swallowed…and immediately wanted to throw up.  It was bad.

I told my co-worker the next day that I almost lost my cookies trying the vinegar thing.  She said that I was nuts to try white vinegar.  She suggested balsamic instead.

I tried a shot of that, and it was pretty great.  A nice, warm feeling in the stomach, instant shock to the head, and no alcohol necessary!  I was hooked. 

At some point, we bought this amazing bottle of balsamic vinegar from O&CO.  Thick, sweet, popping with flavor.  I would eat vanilla ice cream with fresh raspberries and my magic syrup on top.  Yum.  I would also have occasional “shots” of the vinegar.  I made the bottle last several years.

Anyways, we ran out of the good balsamic last year, and I haven’t gotten another one.  But just a few days ago, in the interest of losing some weight, I bought some light balsamic vinaigrette to replace our not-light-but-heavenly buttermilk ranch dressing (meanwhile…”light” dressing is such a marketing ploy.  Yes, there are fewer calories, but it is still almost 95% fat…dieters beware!). 

I made a salad with the new dressing yesterday, and it was actually very tasty.  My son…who hates lettuce…wanted to try some, so I gave him a leafy green.  He loved it.  I’m sure he really loved the vinaigrette dousing it received.  Today, I made a salad again, and he went nuts, babbling for some. 

I gave him a few pieces of lettuce, a little dipping bowl of balsamic dressing, and watched him go at it.

Guzzling his way to yumminess

I think he liked it.  He licked the bowl clean.

I’m a little worried that he already exhibits my quirkiness for foods.  This is going to be one expensive kid to raise.  Better stock up on the premium balsamic.

About pokedpotato

Cheese lover.
This entry was posted in The kid and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Shot of Vinegar

  1. Z's mom says:

    that’s my bubba

  2. Julia says:

    I like malt vinegar, personally. And sorry — but vinegar on ice cream??? talk about losing your cookies!!!!

Leave a Reply

