The 3 Mile Accomplishment

Today a wonderful thing happened.  My mother-in-law came over to watch the bug so I could get things done.  I was able to eat lunch in peace.  I was able to work for a solid 2 hours without having the kid constantly sobbing, “Mama!  Up!”, while wrapped around my knee. 

Most importantly, I was able to go for a run, in the middle of the day. 

My happy identical running shoes waiting to be taken for a jog

As I ran, I debated whether I should do my usual 2 miler – the acceptable range when you are trying to leave your husband alone with a cranky kid for the shortest time possible.  I had the heady realization that a 3 miler was possible. 

It was glorious. 

The sun was shining at 3 pm as I shared the dirt track with walking senior retirees.  I was able to run the loop all the way around, and then instead of veering off towards home, reverse direction and run the loop backwards.  This is one of my favorite ways to run.  I hate, HATE feeling like I am some hamster, looping it up on some dumb wheel.  So the best compromise for a small 1-mile track is to go the other way.  You see different things, and that steep uphill with a long, breezy downhill is morphed into a slow, trudging uphill, with a knee-jarring downward shock.

I thought about nothing important.  I reflected on things like my poor running shoes, the identical little soles which were retired by New Balance many years ago.  At the time, I flipped out and bought every 717 style shoe in my size from every New Balance store within a 50 mile radius.  Now, 7 years later, I wish I had gone for a larger radius. 

I hit a mini wall when I was 3 tenths away from my 3 mile mark.  I guess that happens when you haven’t run 3 miles in about 2 years.  It felt good to struggle a little.

We have a new treadmill on its way.  I’m so excited.  We got rid of our behemoth of a treadmill when we moved, and we have been treadmill-free for almost a year.  You can’t beat a treadmill for convenience.  I expect many more 3+ milers in the future.

For now, I’m happy with today’s accomplishment.  And God bless my mother-in-law.

About pokedpotato

Cheese lover.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The 3 Mile Accomplishment

  1. Z's mom says:

    and God bless you and all those tiny shoes. I couldn’t think of a better way to spend my day than with my favorite bubba stirring alphabet magnets in a bowl, walking amidst the beautiful fall glory with him and watching him wrestle with the yard plugs. God has blessed me abundantly.

  2. mirroredImages says:

    i’m so glad you explained why you have a billion running shoes! i saw the photo before i finished your blog post, and i was very, very concerned for your mental health… 🙂

    good for you for running 3 miles! if i had the luxury of an afternoon off, i’d likely take a nap instead.

    • pokedpotato says:

      thanks Julia! i definitely thought about taking a nap=) but i figured this was my one chance to leave the house during the day without the kid.

      zach makes comments about my mental health all the time too. i don’t see why.

  3. Congratulations, Rebecca! I think it’s great that you were able to push yourself and run the 3 miles. I don’t think I’ve run 3 miles at one time in over 20 years…and I may never do it again.

    Keep up the good work!

    • pokedpotato says:

      Thanks Kevin!! Lol…I think having kids has that “no time to do anything” effect. Either that or a hatred of running. I used to run a lot & loved it, but it was always with friends. It is a lot harder to motivate myself to run alone.

Leave a Reply

